Notebook Know How: Strategis for the Writer’s Notebook p. 15-34

September 7, 2010 bribri42

Today’s reading has made me think about an abundance of the struggles I had with writing as a child.  I did not have a teacher to give me great ideas, and I feel as though that has hindered my writing to this day.  On page 23, the author states that the fear if being wrong is the most difficult thing for students to get over.  As a child I suffered from the same horrible thinking process.  All I needed to be told was that I am an excellent writer, and all of my journal entries are magnificent.  If I would have had that boost I truly believe my writing would be a lot stronger than it is at this point in my life.  Teachers need to be those positive enforcers for children, or they will struggle at writing. 

Writing from a list is a strategy that I would love to use with my students.  If you have them list ideas then most of the time their writing will flow.  If they feel as though they are writing about something special to them there is no way that they will not succeed.  There lives are being incorporated into their writing lessons, and it makes them feel as though they have something incredible to contribute to their journals.  We have used this strategy in Dr. Frye’s class, and I now have more of an ambition to write. 

Rereading and highlighting is something that I naturally do.  I may not always highlight, but rereading is a must in my book.  I have found that there were so many things I could have said in an entry that I forgot to mention; or I did not have time to finish.  All of these strategies are vital in the progression of a students writing, or for that matter an adults.  I have learned from reading this book, and I know I will only learn more when I finish the book in its entirety.

History of my name:

I love my name, because I think my full name is unique; and it is special to me.  My first name is very common, and my last name is more common than the first.  My whole name has only been used by 7 people in the U.S., and that makes me feel as though it is creative.  My last name is the same as Toni Morrison’s, and that brings such joy to my heart.  I have always admired her as a child, and I even thought she was my cousin as a child. 

My aunt gave me my name, and we are extremely close so that makes me feel closer to her.  My first name is from Briana Kay Jewelry, and my middle name is from the famous brand of Chanel.  It is spelled channel, but I love it just the same.  The way the names is spelled adds on to my unique character, and I have not met a person who spells it in that way.  Therefore, I am extremely appreciative of the name God gave me, and I would not change it for the world.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fryeem  |  September 7, 2010 at 11:39 am

    I enjoyed reading about your name…I find these stories so fascinating!

  • 2. Beth Frye  |  September 8, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Also, wanted to mention that I appreciate your honest post and addressing your struggles as a young writer. 🙂 We shall overcome! Looking forward to reading more of your writing.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Categories

Block 2

Blogroll

Pages

Blog Stats

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Meta

 
