I Poems

October 14, 2010 bribri42

“Students understand and remember ideas better when they have to transform those ideas from one form to another.” (Pearson & Fielding, 1991, p. 847)

Ipoems are an excellent way to get students involved in the classroom.  Throughout the power point their was an abundance of examples of how an ipoem is actually made.  I am extremely excited about the fact that students can use the literature they are learning to make this ipoem.  There are many scaffolds that students have used to gather their information on their particular subjects, and then that research is used to gather their ideas for their poems. 

Another wonderful point that I would like to make about ipoems, is that the teacher is there to help you all the way through.  There were many examples of the drafts of children’s poems, and even whole class ipoems.  I feel as though children learn an abundance from just practicing writing. 

Students were also proud of their poems, because their poems were displayed in a book in the classroom.  This makes children feel as though they are accomplished writers, even though some of them maybe writing at a lower level. 

I would love to use ipoems with my IDP lessons, because I feel as though students would appreciate and enjoy this lesson.  I am going to use this power point to guide me through scaffolding, because that is a huge component of ipoems.  Also, I would also like to help my students with verbs by giving them a list as I saw in the power point.  A little guidance is necessary with this lesson, because students may not be as familiar with this type of learning.  I am excited to see how everything works out in my lesson! 🙂

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. fryeem  |  October 14, 2010 at 2:17 am

    Let’s talk tomorrow about how you might do this with your IDP. So excited for you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Categories

Block 2

Blogroll

Pages

Blog Stats

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Meta

 
